If an employee has left your organization, you can remove them from your account and an additional license will be freed up, which can then be utilized by a new employee.
If you need to remove a user from your account, please follow the steps below:
1. Select Manage Users from the Manage dropdown menu at the top of the page
2. Locate the user by entering their name or email address in the Search box that’s located under All Users
3. To remove a user from your account, click the ellipses (or actions menu) to the right of the user’s name and select Deactivate User.
You will be presented with further instructions and information on what it means to deactivate a user before confirming the deactivation.
Once deactivated, the user will no longer be able to log into your Udemy Business account via an email and password login.
Managing access for users from single sign-on (SSO) managed accounts
To prevent deactivated users from accessing your Udemy Business account via SSO, please have the team responsible for your SSO integration with Udemy Business, deprovision the users in your SSO Active Directory. Users who remain provisioned via your SSO Active Directory will continue to have access to your Udemy Business account through SSO, even if they are deactivated in the account by an Admin.
If you need to prevent deactivated users from accessing your Udemy Business account via SSO, but require that they remain provisioned in your SSO Active Directory, please click here to contact our Support Team for assistance.
Important: SSO managed accounts that utilize System for Cross-domain Identity Management (SCIM) are only able to deprovision users directly from the SSO Active Directory. For more information, read about automating user and group management with SCIM.
Deactivated users in Insights and Reports
For deactivated users, all the data associated with their learning and the use of their account will be retained in your insights and reports. You can access a list of all your Deactivated Users in a filter on the left sidebar menu of the Manage Users area.
Deactivating users with Pro licenses assigned (Udemy Business Pro only)
If an employee has left your organization, you can deactivate them from your account. If you deactivate a user who was assigned a Pro license, then their Udemy Business license and their Pro license will be freed up, which can then be utilized by a new employee. Additionally, Udemy Business Pro reporting will be retained for this user.
Users assigned Pro licenses can have their individual Pro licenses removed or can be deactivated.
If you need to revert a deactivation (eg. made a mistake), or if you wish to have a user returned to the account after being temporarily deactivated, you can use the option to Reactivate User. Learn how to reactivate a user who was previously deactivated.
If you wish to permanently remove a user’s Personal Identifiable Information (PII) for GDPR compliance or a similar purpose, you can do so once the user has been deactivated. Learn how to delete a user’s PII.