If you wish to permanently remove (i.e., anonymize) a user’s Personally Identifiable Information (PII) for General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) compliance or a similar purpose, you can do so once the user has been deactivated.
Deleting User PII will make the user’s personal information anonymous but it will keep an aggregation of their usage history for reporting purposes. This means that their number of enrollments and course minutes consumed, will be included in the total number of all enrollments and course minutes consumed for the organization. The data, however, won't be linked back to the individual user name, any group they were in, or course name they took.
How to delete (i.e., anonymize) user data
To permanently delete a user’s PII you must first deactivate them. To learn how to deactivate a user, click here. For System for Cross-domain Identity Management (SCIM) managed accounts, learners must be deactivated (i.e., deprovisioned) directly from your Single Sign On (SSO) Active Directory.
Once the user is deactivated you can use the same actions menu to the right of their listing and click the Delete User PII option in the menu. You will be presented with further instructions and information on deleting a user’s PII and you will need to click the checkbox to confirm that you understand.
How to select multiple deactivated users
You can select multiple deactivated users by clicking the checkbox on the left of the deactivated user. This will give you the option to Delete User PII for multiple users.
How anonymized users appear in Udemy Business
Deleting a user’s PII will remove all identifiable information for that user and replace all references to them in Udemy Business with a label called ‘Anonymized User.’
The total count of users who've had their PII deleted will be shown in a notification on the Deactivated Users page. The Deactivated Users filter can be accessed in the License allocation section under Manage Users.
You can see aggregated data in reports for anonymized users whose PII has been deleted. Please note: there is no way to retrieve the PII data for an anonymized user and no way to link them to courses or groups. Deleting User PII is irreversible.