This article explains how to import a certification badge to your Udemy Business account. When you’ve completed your certification exam on a third-party site, you will be able to upload your badge to Udemy to validate your achievement and celebrate your success with your organization.
Please note: Udemy Business supports the Open Badge standard only.
- Open Badges are web-enabled versions of a credential, certification or learning outcome which can be verified in real-time, online.
- Learn more about Open Badges (English only).
Table of contents
- Benefits of uploading a certification badge
- How to import a badge to your Udemy Business account
- Badge display after successful import
- What happens to my badges if my Udemy Business account is deactivated or deleted?
Benefits of uploading a certification badge
Open Badges provide your employer and peers with evidence of skills acquired that are verifiable to you. Once imported, the badge data will be shared with the administrators and group administrators of the account so that your organization can be made aware of your newly acquired skills, to support your career development.
In the future, if you are looking to get recertified you will be able to reference back to the badge and also see what learning you took on Udemy Business to earn the achievement.
Please note: For customers in Austria, Germany or Switzerland learner badge data will be hidden from admins and group admins.
How to import a badge to your Udemy Business account
1. After logging in to your Udemy Business account, scroll to the profile icon and click My Learning.
2. On your My Learning page, click on the Certifications tab.
3. Click on Import new badge, and follow the instructions to upload your Open Badge that you received from the original badge issuer.
4. After you have uploaded your badge, you will have the opportunity to validate the information. When ready, click Validate and Upload.
Please note: If your badge does not meet the Open Badge standard, you will be unable to import the badge and will see an error message.
Badge display after successful import
After import, your badges will appear under My learning, and can be viewed by the administrators of the account for visibility.
What happens to my badges if my Udemy Business account is deactivated or deleted?
If your account is deactivated, your badge data will remain on the account, in case you are granted access again to the platform in the future.
If your account is deleted or anonymised, then all your account's personal information , including your badging data, will be permanently removed in compliance with data privacy regulations.